┌────┘


├──── Appel à participation: Dissiper la brume

├──── 18 → 21 mai 2022   |   21 → 24 juin 2022

└──── Bruxelles

Dans le cadre du projet de recherche en art «Dissiper la brume» soutenu par le FrART, nous organisons à Bruxelles deux sessions de travail collectif du 18 au 21 mai 2022 et 21 au 24 juin 2022.

« In the present context, language that underpins cloud computing is instrumentally constructed by cloud providers, whom not only produce these technologies but also the metaphors appropriate for their business purposes. Given this commercial context, metaphors are mainly constructed for their business potential, not for their explanatory power. Cloud providers can, thus, strategically choose metaphors to their own advantage. They can use metaphors that direct human thought to certain images to avoid unwanted understandings. » — Lindh, Maria. « As a Utility – Metaphors of Information Technologies ». Human IT: Journal for Information Technology Studies as a Human Science 13, nᵒ 2 (13 mai 2016): 47‑80.

Du fait de sa complexité, c'est par le biais de métaphores, d'images, d'abstractions, que nous appréhendons l'informatique. Les métaphores ne pouvant mettre en lumière certains aspects qu'au détriment d'autres, leur choix conditionnent notre perception et nos pratiques du numérique. Alors que l'informatique et les réseaux ont pris une place centrale dans nos vies et que notre expérience du numérique se réduit de plus en plus à l'utilisation de services verrouillés distants, quelles métaphores structurent désormais notre imaginaire numérique?

«Data-mining», «cloud computing», «computational power from the tap»… quelles visions du monde ces métaphores véhiculent-elles? Qui produit ce langage? Quelles formes d'organisations sociale, économique et politique soutiennent-elles? Comment nos vies en sont-elles affectées? Et surtout: comment pouvons-nous produire d'autres imaginaires et pratiques du numérique plus riches et généreuses?

Metaphors we'd rather live by

Dans leur ouvrage «Metaphors We Live By» (1980), les linguistes George Lakoff et Mark Johnson postulent que les métaphores ne relevent pas simplement du domaine du langage, mais aussi du domaine cognitif. Omniprésentes, inconscientes et «seuls moyens de percevoir et d'expérimenter une grande partie du monde», elles constituent notre «système conceptuel ordinaire», conditionnant ainsi notre perception du monde, notre imaginaire, notre manière de penser et d'agir. Mais en projetant les propriétés d'une chose sur une autre, nous nous heurtons nécessairement à l'impossibilité d'établir une équivalence. Nous ne pouvons, au mieux, n'en éclairer qu'un aspect.

Par la nécéssaire abstraction de leur fonctionnement complexe, l'informatique et les réseaux sont depuis toujours des domaines particulièrement riches en métaphores, qu'elles soient textuelles, visuelles ou d'interaction. En se basant sur les théories le Lakoff et Jonhson, ce projet de recherche postule que l'invention de métaphores est un levier essentiel pour s'extraire des paradigmes techno-politiques et économiques actuels et proposer d'autres approches du numérique.

Sessions de travail

Les sessions de travail proposeront une approche exploratoire et interdisciplinaires, sous la forme d'une série de conférences et d’ateliers pratiques. À partir d'une critique des métaphores du «cloud computing» et des idéologies qu'elles véhiculent, nous travaillerons à la production de nouvelles «images» (visuelles, textuelles ou d'interfaces), permettant de faire émerger d'autres aspects et d'autres visions de ces technologies. Le résultat escompté, allant du dispositif spéculatif au prototype, aura valeur de force propositionnelle.

Comment participer?

Les deux sessions auront lieu à Bruxelles, du 18 au 21 mai 2022 et du 21 au 24 juin 2022 au sein de du textile lab Green Fabric [33 rue jean-baptiste Baeck, 1190 Forest]

Si vous souhaitez participer, envoyez-nous votre candidature à l'adresse suivante : . Date limite: dimanche 30 avril 2022.

Merci de joindre à votre email:

  • une courte présentation;
  • la ou les sessions auxquelles vous voulez participer;
  • un mot sur pourquoi ce sujet vous intéresse.

Le nombre de places est limité. Nous donnerons la priorité aux personnes disponibles pour les deux sessions.

  • nous vous confirmerons votre participation sous deux semaines.
  • la participation est gratuite. Les dépenses suivantes sont couvertes:
    • pour tous : déjeuner.
    • merci de nous préciser dans le mail si vous avez d'un besoin d'un logement et d'un support financier pour voyager.
  • La communication se fera en anglais et français.

Cet appel est susceptible d'être mis à jour. Le programme complet de chaque session sera communiqué deux semaines à l'avance.

Les productions amorcées durant les sessions pourront bénéficier d'une aide financière pour prolonger leur developpement au delà des ateliers, et prendre place dans une restitution publique, fin 2022.

Équipe

Nous sommes quatre designeurs graphiques, développeurs ou artistes, issus de deux collectifs (Luuse et Open Source Publishing) rassemblés par un intérêt commun pour le rôle des outils numériques dans le champ de la création graphique. En parallèle de notre pratique professionnelle et artistique, nous sommes enseignants en école d’art, dans différentes disciplines (art numérique, typographie, graphisme, web, image imprimée) et différents lieux (ÉSA le 75, Erg, Ensba Lyon).

  • Antoine Gelgon, designer, intervenant en dessin de caractère à l'ERG.
  • Alex Leray, graphiste, developpeur et enseignant en image numérique à l'ÉSA Le Septantecinq au sein de l'option Images Plurielles Imprimées (Bruxelles).
  • Romain Marula, graphiste, developpeur, artiste et enseignant à l'ESA Le Septantecinq.
  • Marianne Plano, graphiste et développeuse, enseignante en design numérique à l'Ensba Lyon.

À travers nos expériences d'enseignement en école d'art, nous avons observé ces dernières années de profonds changements dans les écosystèmes numériques pédagogiques, avec une nette tendance à l'invisibilisation des processus (par exemple, via la disparition des systèmes hiérarchiques de navigation des gestionnaires de fichiers), la surdétermination de appareils et logiciels (par exemple, via l'arrivé des tablettes et de leurs applications) et la montée en puissance des GAFAM (notamment Google Apps For Education).

en
fr

┌────┘


├──── Open call: Clearing up the mist

├──── 18th → 21st May 2022   |   21th → 24th June 2022

└──── Brussels

In the frame of the research in art project "Clearing up the mist" supported by FrART, we are organizing two collective work sessions in Brussels. First will take place from 18th to 21st May 2022 and, the second from 21th to 24th June 2022.

« In the present context, language that underpins cloud computing is instrumentally constructed by cloud providers, whom not only produce these technologies but also the metaphors appropriate for their business purposes. Given this commercial context, metaphors are mainly constructed for their business potential, not for their explanatory power. Cloud providers can, thus, strategically choose metaphors to their own advantage. They can use metaphors that direct human thought to certain images to avoid unwanted understandings. » — Lindh, Maria. « As a Utility – Metaphors of Information Technologies ». Human IT: Journal for Information Technology Studies as a Human Science 13, nᵒ 2 (13 mai 2016): 47‑80.

"Data-mining", "cloud computing", "computational power from the tap"... what views do these metaphors embed? Who produces this language? What forms of social, economic and political organization do they support? How do they affect our lives? And above all: how can we set up richer and more generous imaginaries and practices of the digital?

Metaphors we'd rather live by

In their book "Metaphors We Live By" (1980), linguists George Lakoff and Mark Johnson say that metaphors are not simply a matter of language, but also of cognition. Omnipresent, unconscious and "the only means of perceiving and experiencing a large part of the world", they constitute our "ordinary conceptual system", thus conditions our perception of the world, our imagination, and the way we think and act. But by projecting the properties of a thing on another, we necessarily run up against the impossibility of establishing an equivalence. We can, at best, bring light to only one aspect.

Because of the necessary abstraction of their complex functioning, computers and networks have always been domains particularly rich in metaphors, whether they are textual, visual or interactional. Based on the theories of Lakoff and Jonhson, this research project postulates that the invention of metaphors is an essential lever to get out of the current techno-political and economic paradigms and to propose other approaches to the digital world.

Work sessions

Work sessions will propose an experimental and cross-disciplinary approach, in the form of a series of lectures and practical workshops. Starting from an analysis of the metaphors of cloud computing and of the ideologies they convey, we will work on the production of new "images" (visual, textual or interfaces), that would allow other aspects, visions and practices involved with these technologies to exist. The expected result, from speculative devices to prototypes, is meant to be a force of proposal.

How to get involved?

The two sessions will take place in Brussels, from May 18 to 21 2022 and from June 21 to 24 2022 in the fabric lab Green Fabric:

Rue Jean-Baptiste Baeck 33, 1190 Forest — Brussels Belgium

If you wish to get involved, please send us an application to the following address: . before Sunday, April 30, 2022.

Please attach to your email:

  • a short presentation;
  • the session(s) you want to attend;
  • a note explaining why these questions matters to you

The number of places is limited. We will give priority to candidates available for the full sessions.

  • We will confirm your participation within two weeks.
  • Participation is free. The following expenses are covered
    • for all: lunch.
    • Please let us know if you would need an accommodation and financial support for travelling.
  • Workshops will be held both in English and in French.

This call is subject to changes. The full program of each session will be communicated two weeks in advance.

The works initiated during the sessions will be eligible for financial support, to pursue their development beyond the sessions. All of them will be part of a public restitution, at the end of 2022.

Team

We are four graphic designers, developers or artists, from two collectives (Luuse and Open Source Publishing) brought together by a shared interest in digital tools, especially in the field of graphic design. Alongside our professional and artistic practice, we all teach in art schools, in different disciplines (digital art, typography, graphic design, web, printed image) and different places (ÉSA le 75, Erg, Ensba Lyon).

  • Antoine Gelgon, designer, type design instructor at ERG.
  • Alex Leray, graphic designer, developer and teacher in digital image at ÉSA Le Septantecinq within the option Images Plurielles Imprimées (Brussels).
  • Romain Marula, graphic designer, developer, artist and teacher at ESA Le Septantecinq.
  • Marianne Plano, graphic designer and developer, teacher in digital design at Ensba Lyon.

Through our teaching experiences, we witnessed, in recent years, deep changes in the digital ecosystems in which schools are now embedded. These appears now to be leaning clearly towards the invisibilization of processes (disappearance of visible file systems in interfaces), the over determining of devices and software (shift towards tablets and their applications), and the rise of GAFAM (especially with Google Apps For Education).

This project is funded by FNRS-FRART (Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique), and supported by ÉSA Le Septantecinq.

en
fr